Almost Home, at Least for a Weekend

by Jeremy Chance

Greetings from Canton!

I know I say this every time I post, but it’s hard to believe “x” number of weeks have gone by. We’ve already completed seven weeks here, and I’m sure by the time this is posted the eighth week will be well on its way. I’ve been here over two months! That’s hard to believe sometimes. The craziest part about that is I haven’t seen any family or friends in over two months! For a man who’s all about his family and friends, that’s a pretty long time!!

Things continue to go pretty well here at camp, though I will admit I am starting to feel a bit run down. There are a number of reasons, but it’s hard to working as much as we are and being around the campers as much as we are and not feel that way a little bit. I feel bad though because I know my personal performance has dropped because of it. That’s generally not the way I operate, and I’m embarrassed that I’ve let my performance slip because of some personal issues I’m dealing with.

A twelve-week summer is such a long time! I give props to the campers who do not get a period off a day or the occasional day off like I’m privileged to. They’re so impressive and continue to inspire me with their day-to-day efforts. I’m as passionate as ever about this field and to be working with this conversation, but part of me is certainly ready to be back to a different grind with school and class work.

Regardless, I’m still very blessed and so stoked to be here in this situation. I’m still passionate about helping kids change his or her life. I think it’s just natural to feel a little frustrated or run down occasionally when we spend essentially 24/7 with them.  But know I am happy! 🙂

It’s hard to believe this week is the week my brother gets married! I’m so happy for him and Kate. As happy as I am for them, I’m really looking forward to the opportunity to come home and see everyone! I have such an amazing family, and we have some amazing friends who will be there, and it’s going to be such an awesome celebration.

For starters, it’s the celebration of two people becoming one family, and I’m blessed to be able to be a part of it. I’m so happy that Jon found Kate because he’s so happy! Plus, Kate has a pretty awesome family, so I’m glad our families have met and spent so much time together. Weddings, in their true sense, are wonderful celebrations of two becoming one, and I’m so unbelievably happy that my brother has found someone to share that with!

The celebration itself is going to be ridiculous! The ceremony, I can only imagine, is going to be beautiful. The reception…oh boy! My family has a great time when we’re together. We have an amazing time when we’re with our friends. And Kate’s family is super awesome! Add it all together in a wedding reception, and it’s going to be a good time! I’m really looking forward to throwing on a tux, getting dressed up and looking good and having a good time!

I will be honest though, I do get a little emotional thinking about being home. I don’t know if homesick is the right word to use; I know eventually I’ll move away from home to start a career, and I really look forward to that opportunity. But missing out on all of the events leading up to the wedding has kind of weighed on me. Not being able to head home for a weekend has been rough. Only being able to communicate with people occasionally has really taken its toll, and it has been a hard two months away. I know I’m stronger for it; I know when I do need to move away and make my career, this experience will have prepared me for it…so long as I have cell phone reception and adequate internet.

The crazy thing about the time that has led up to this week, and ultimately Friday, is the fact that it’s going to fly by as soon as I get there. I’ll spend late Wednesday/early Thursday morning driving. Thursday I will be taking care of my tux and doing other errands before the rehearsal and rehearsal dinner, etc. Then Friday’s the big day! Saturday I’ll have another wedding to attend in West Lafayette (Aaron Strand, a Glee Club buddy of mine; a wedding I’m also stoked about attending!), and then Sunday I’ll have to make the drive back to North Carolina for the final three weeks or so of camp. My time at home will be short, but I’m hoping it’s very sweet!

Camp has been great. This has undoubtedly been the most rewarding summer of my life. I’ve had an amazing experience meeting and working with the staff, and working with this incredibly inspiring and hardworking kids. But it’ll be great to be home for a few days!

That’s all for now. Hopefully I’ll have lots of pictures from the wedding to post here, and I’m hoping to post about my trip home shortly after I get back to camp. That will be a bittersweet drive back to NC.

Ah, I didn’t even get to write about my Wellspring Journey opportunity…I’ll save that for a later post. Until then, have a wonderful day! Hopefully I see some of you readers this weekend!!

 

J.

