Getting Fit

by Jeremy Chance

It has once again been a little bit longer than I planned since my last blog post. There have been too many times I’ve said to myself “I haven’t blogged in a while, I should do that,” and then I kind of forget about it. My apologies.

Not too much has been going on in my life. Being on academic probation from Glee Club sucks pretty hard, especially with all of the opportunities they’ve had this semester. I was hoping to sure up somethings with my grades and have the opportunity to rejoin the guys this semester, but it didn’t quite work out.

All I can really say is this: after being given the chance to finish up some work and eventually receiving a grade that should’ve reestablished my eligibility, the university couldn’t change my academic status, and I was not given the opportunity to join the guys mid-semester. As much as I normally look forward End of Season, I can’t even express, in writing or spoken words, how much I can’t wait to get back with my brothers on stage.

Until then, I’ll bust my butt in rehearsal, try and focus as much as possible on my academics, work at the store, and work on me (more on this later).

School is just kind of school right now. The latter part of the semester is going as they normally do, and that’s slow. We’ve had some teaser warm weather here and there, and I think everyone’s just ready for the summer. My plan to pursue this second undergraduate degree has no doubt been questionable at best. I don’t particularly enjoy what I’m doing. Not shockingly at all, my favorite class is my communication class, an advertising class. I miss having those communication classes.

I’ve decided that if grad school isn’t in the cards for me for next semester, as I’ve reapplied for next fall, I’m going to take some time away from school. Grad school at Purdue may just not be for me. There are other programs out there that I may consider in the future. I just think for right now, if I’m not admitted to grad school for the fall, I need some time away from school. I’ll come back some other time and finish up those handful of classes, but I’ve already earned my one degree, and I’m proud of that.

This semester I’ve had the opportunity to work a bit more without weekend performances and obligations, and that’s been kind of refreshing. I am excited though for the summer because I’ll be able to work full time, and hopefully in a more advanced position. Yes, even in the meat department at your local grocery stores we have levels within departments. I’m hoping eventually work my way up into store management, and I think this is just another step.

I think one way this blog will change a bit is with a new endeavor/hobby I’ve taken on in my life. Just down the street from where we live, they put in a gym called Snap Fitness. One day I decided to go check out it and get a membership. They had a membership $20 a month (no long-term contract), and the facility is open 24/7. I figured I’d give it a shot.

That was about a month and a half ago. Since then, I’ve probably worked out literally just about everyday since then. I can’t even explain why it’s happened. Maybe it’s because I want to be healthier. Maybe it’s because I might as work on my physical health when my mental “health” is questionable. Maybe I just needed something to fill my lack of Glee Club obligations. I don’t know. I’m sure there are plenty of reasons, conscious and subconscious.

Regardless, I’ve started working out 5-6 days a week, and I’ve also started eating better, significantly better. I’ve basically cut out all fast food, with the only legit exception being Tuesdays when I get lunch with Joe and Kels, though I do try to eat well when we do. I’ve tried to bring my lunch with me to campus instead of getting food on campus. I’ve shopped better, buying better and healthier food, and I’ve started cooking a little bit better. I’ve tried to limit all eating to before 8 PM. And, I think most importantly, I’ve substantially cut out the amount of pop I drink. I allow myself one a day, although many days I don’t drink it at all. I’ve started to drink milk: I think I’ve drank more milk in the past month and a half than I have in the five and a half years I’ve been in college.

Now, unfortunately I did not weigh myself before I started working out, and that was probably a mistake. I have an application on my phone that allows me to track my weight, my calorie intake, my workouts, etc. By putting in my goal weight, it creates a daily calorie plan for me to reach my goal. I had to take a guess at my starting weight which, and there’s not a chance it was under 265. I guessed my starting weight to be 268. As of today, I’m at 247.4, and I’m pretty proud of that. My goal is to get to 215. I’m just trying to live a healthier life, get fit and feel better about myself.

I think I may turn this blog into a workout/weight loss blog. I’m not necessarily looking for feedback, but I just think this will be a good way for me to stay accountable, and maybe “inspire” other people to give it a try.

Thanks for reading. I’m hoping to update it a little more frequently and keep up with the weight loss. Have a good day!!

-J. Chance

