Becoming an Adult…According to Burk

by Jeremy Chance

Fortunately for me, I’m not quite heading in to the workforce just yet.

I’ve still got a lot of schooling ahead of me. As Shawn put it last night, this was the first off three (I corrected him to four) graduations for me.

However, a lot of my really good friends graduated within the past 6 months, Shawn being one of them, and I know searching for a job and being out in the real world is pretty scary.

As I was logging in to WordPress.com, this featured blog post caught my eye.

“Signs I’m Starting To Become An Adult.”

First off, props to the writer. Well-written, brother, well-written.

It’s kind of scary to think about the little tell-tale signs that life’s starting to get real. It’s always funny to see people changing his or her name on Facebook from first and last name to first and middle name. I’d go from “Jeremy Chance” to “Jeremy Michael.” It’s kind of comical sometimes. There was actually one instance where I saw a name in my newsfeed, and I actually questioned who this person was and why I was friends with him.

It’s funny that he mentions weddings because that’s absolutely true. I know this is the third Shawn reference in this post alone, but Shawn is getting married in less than five months. A couple of Glee Clubbers are getting married this summer. One of the guys actually got married this past Sunday (congrats, Noah!). One of my best friends from high school actually got married last summer. Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love going to weddings, and I’m beyond stoked to be the best man in another. Honestly though, for better or for worse, they make me realize I’m no where near ready myself to get married.

Being single helps delay that marriage process as well…one day, I suppose.

It’s funny to hear (or read, really) people talk about “punk-ass kids.” I’ve been out of high school since 2005. I’m a Purdue alum (kind of), so I’ve seen and experienced a lot through my five years as a Boilermaker. It’s funny to see the shift in habits and hobbies throughout the years. I mean, don’t get me wrong, I still like to go out and have a good time rocking out on Chauncey Hill. Sometimes I would rather just sit at home and chill instead of going out all the time, and I think this is one of the most common themes I’ve noticed among other friends.

When I first turned 21, I heard a lot of people say you drink a lot less once you’re actually able to do it legally. Now, I can’t say that applied to me. I’ve still done my share of drinking. I have noticed a decent amount of my friends have started to slow down on the going out. Not that there’s anything wrong with that, but there’s definitely a different demeanor about them even when they do go out.

Because those last two paragraphs weren’t really where I was wanting to go with that point, I’ll digress to that point.

I see the way some kids behave nowadays, and I don’t to sound like an old fogey, but I honestly wonder to myself if that’s the way I acted when I was that age. I said that to myself when I went from middle school to high school when looking at the way those middle schoolers behaved. I said the same thing to myself after graduating high school and moving on to college. Did I really act that in high school? And now that I’ve had my number of years in college, I say the same thing when I see freshmen around campus and at parties.

Like I said, I’m pretty fortunate to not be thrown into the real world just quite yet. Congrats to all of my fellow Purdue graduates though. It’s kind of crazy to think how far we’ve come in the four of five years since we started college in West Lafayette, Indiana.

Reading Burk’s post about becoming an adult makes me realize how fortunate I am to have had all the experiences I’ve had in my life that have hopefully prepared me for the real world when I get there.

I hope those of you who may be feeling down you’re in the real world and don’t have a job yet, no worries. Things will work the way they’re supposed to work. And as much as you wish you could go back to college (Avenue Q, anyone???), just wait…the right job’s out there.

Yeah, this post definitely falls in the “random thoughts” category…very little direction with this post.

Thanks, Burk, for the inspiration though!

