Life Update Part 1 (Academics and Graduation)

by Jeremy Chance

Hello friends!!

I promised I’d try and reduce the time between blog posts…I didn’t do THAT bad of a job. However, I do apologize for the delay between posts.

A lot has happened the past three weeks. (After starting this blog, I realized it was probably going to be way too long for one post. So, I’m going to split it into multiple posts. I hope you read all of them, but I’m splitting them up just in case you aren’t THAT interested.)

For starters, the semester ended! Semester number 10 for me ended for me, and I have to say, it was definitely my best semester! As a refresher, I only needed 5 credits/two required classes to graduate. I took an intro to music theory class, intro to new media, communication and social networks, and wine appreciation (yes, that is in fact a course offered at Purdue University).

I decided to take wine appreciation as a pass/no pass, meaning I only needed a 70% to pass. I took it more so as a cool experience, and I will admit, I do have a new found appreciation for wine (try a traminette if you get the opportunity).

My music theory class was alright. I definitely learned a little bit, enough to make me a better musician anyways.

My other two classes were my two favorite though. My intro to new media class was awesome. We got to explore all these new media and work with them. Because media such as blogging, tweeting, video and audio messaging are relevant in today’s day in age, it was cool to learn how to use all of these more in depth so I can be awesome when I get a job down the line. This was the class I got to write my bar blog for, just as a reference for how awesome the class was.

Communication and social networks was cool because it wasn’t just about Facebook, Twitter and all those kinds of things. It was about social network theory and how it applies to other disciplines. It sounds nerdy, but it was actually pretty cool.

Besides the fact the courses were all pretty interesting and freaking sweet, I did the best, grades wise, that I’ve probably ever done. I ended up with a 75% in my wine appreciation class, and I was okay that. It equaled a P for passing, so thumbs up there.

I ended up with an A in my music theory class, but I have to give a lot of the credit to the people who took the class with me. Let’s just say we really worked together, and I’d say we all earned collaborative A’s. 🙂

I also earned an A in my new media class. All that bar hopping really paid off! 🙂

My social networking class was really my finest work. After getting a 97.5% on the midterm and earning all of the points on a couple of lab assignments, I made it a personal goal to earn an A+ in the class. I had never gotten an A+ before, and definitely not in college. Maybe it was just me trying to be an overachiever or trying to be a really big nerd. Either way, I thought it would be really cool to earn in A+ in my graduating semester. Drum roll please…

Mission accomplished. For a recap, one passing, two A’s and an A+. That’s a 4.0 GPA in the final semester of this degree! I was really excited when grades came out. Now, I know I’ve never had the most demanding course load compared to my PMO friends majoring in engineering, nursing, etc., but I definitely worked my butt off this semester, and I’m glad I have something to show for it.

With a 4.0 GPA this semester, my cumulative GPA jumped up to 3.11, and I’m pretty proud of that. I’ve had a lot of ups and downs in terms of my academics throughout the past five years, so it’s pretty cool to finish this degree on a high note.

I guess all this talk of school begs the question: did you find out about grad school?

Yes, a few weeks back I got an email. The letter said there were no more spots available in the communication graduate program.

Having read “no more spots” I should’ve been okay about it. It’s not like they said no because I wasn’t good enough. Still, I know I procrastinated with getting everything in, and I think that’s why there were no more spots. I’m really disappointed in myself I let it happen.

Good thing for back up plans, right?

So, next year I will start to pursue my second undergraduate degree, but I have the opportunity to reapply for the 2011-2012 year. Now my GPA is better. I plan on retaking the GRE. I’ll get another letter of recommendation. I’ll get all of this in ON TIME!

I’ll make sure they have no option but to offer me a position.

Speaking of the undergraduate degree, I did in fact earn my bachelor’s degree this past Sunday. Well, kind of.

Here’s a little background information. As a member of the Glee Club, we perform at all four spring commencement ceremonies. We sit up on stage and sing a handful of songs throughout each of the ceremonies. Even if you have earned your degree, you don’t walk with the rest of the graduates. You sit on stage with your brothers in song, and after ceremony is over, President Cordova personally delivers your diploma.

I mean, yeah, it kind of takes away from that graduation moment. You don’t wear a cap and gown. You don’t walk across stage. But, you still get to stand when your college stands for the conferring of your degree. You still receive your diploma.

So, it’s Sunday morning, and it’s finally my commencement. We sit through our fourth commencement ceremony. I stand with the rest of the College of Liberal Arts (by the way, congrats to all of my fellow CLA graduates!). The ceremony is over, and Pres. Cordova delivers diplomas for the band graduates, and I see her walking toward the Glee Club, without a diploma. She thanked us for being a part of the ceremony, but was completely oblivious to the fact that she should have my diploma.

Word gets down to Bill that they should have a diploma for me, and to make a long story short, they didn’t have it at hand. So basically this moment that I’d been working toward for the past five years was a flop. Bill had the guys cheer for me, but I was still pretty embarrassed. I had no explanation for why I wasn’t receiving my diploma like I was supposed to.

To save you a lot of the boring back story, Shawn and I met with Dr. Tom Robinson, VP of Student Services at Purdue, and Bill to receive my diploma Wednesday morning:

Here’s what the inside looks like:

Even though I didn’t receive it until Wednesday, it was still pretty cool to receive it. Even though I’m not done with school by any means, it’s cool to have something to show for all the hard work I’ve put in the past five years.

Yeah, 1200+ words…

Check out Life Update Part 2 for a wrap-up of the Glee Club’s end of the year.


