First Full Day in Florida

by Jeremy Chance

I’m honestly going to try and stay brief with this post because it’s already after 11:30 and we have to be up around 7:00 tomorrow to kick of another day of Glee Club activities.

Today has been a pretty solid day. The day’s activities were very near to Fort Myers, so the guys and I here at the Lapham’s had a later call time. I’m definitely a fan of late morning call times. Although we didn’t have to be at the bus pick-up point until 11:15, we woke up around 9:00 and had a good breakfast. Mr. Lapham made us scrambled eggs and sausage with some English muffins. It was simple but delicious and really kick started the day. I’m normally not much of a breakfast guy, but waking up a bit earlier and getting a good breakfast in really seemed to set the tone for the day.

We drove to the local Publix to meet the bus and head on to our first location for the day. We headed to the Forest Country Club for a few hours and were greeted to this sign.

Once we arrived there the properties guys set up for a quick show, and we performed about 30 minutes worth of music for the members. Apparently there was some kind of golf tournament going on today, so what better way to kick off the event than with a short little show by the Glee Club.

After the show we headed in for lunch. I have to say this. I don’t know if it’s necessarily a southern thing, but we’ve been fed pretty well the entire time we’ve been on the road. There are just so many different options with everything. Today’s lunch included potato salad, fruit salad, potato chips, baked beans, corn on the cob, BBQ pulled pork, herb-roasted chicken and probably a handful of other things I’m forgetting. Granted, I probably could have done a little better job preparing my portions, but everything looked so good I wanted to try a lot of everything, not just a little…so I did. 🙂

After lunch we had about an hour and a half to kill, so Joshua and I went and strolled around and chatted a little bit. The country club was beautiful, and I was able to take a few pictures.

To make a long story short, the country club was beautiful, there was a really cool piano that actually had a bar and bar stools around it, and we got to do a little putting.

Joshua playing the piano that plays by itself.

From the country club we drove to the Village Church at Shell Point Retirement Community. We soundchecked for a bit and headed to dinner, which was another huge meal. We had spaghetti, meatballs, chicken parmigiana, some other kind of pasta, huge salad bar, soup bar and delicious deserts.

The cool thing about tonight’s show was that we were part of a concert series specifically focused on sacred music. Now, the Glee Club has a wide and varied repertoire, and we do have a number of sacred and religious songs. Though I may not be an overly religious individual, those songs tend to be my favorites that we perform. It was really a unique show in the fact that was the only kind of music we did.

I’m not going to throw my religious beliefs out there, whatever they may be, because that’s not what this blog nor this post is about. Regardless of what I or anyone else may believe, I do feel there were moments today (and especially earlier in the trip) that a presence was with us throughout the performance.

As we performed songs such as “Ave Maria,” “Lord, Where is Our Freedom,” our “Hymn Medley” and “Didn’t My Lord Deliver Daniel,” cords seemed to lock into place and chills ran up and down my spine throughout the show. Lighthouse, our gospel quartet, were heavily featured in tonight’s show, and they performed at a high level per usual. Ba-Na-Na performed this song called “100 Pounds of Clay,” and it unfortunately took me too long to realize it was in reference to the creation of woman. They also sounded great. Voiceovers debuted our song “It’s Gonna Rain,” and I feel like it went really well! I got a lot of positive feedback from the guys, so that was reassuring, especially considering I sing lead on that song. I hope it sounded as good as I think it did!

After the show as we mingled with the audience, like we do, I was actually introduced to a handful of people who lived in Hammond. It’s always cool to run into people from the HMD, especially down in Florida. Most were graduates of Hammond High. I don’t think Morton was around when they were in high school, so we couldn’t share some Governor Pride. Still, it was very exciting to meet Hammond people down in Fort Myers.

Jeremy, Tim, Ethan and I headed back to the house afterward and headed to the club house to do a little hot tub action. We got about a solid 20, 25 minutes worth of conversation in before someone came and reminded us the pool was closed after sundown. Unfortunately by this point the sun had been down for quite some time, so we really had no excuse for that. Those brief moments hit the spot for sure though.

We came back to the Lapham’s and have been taking it easy ever since.

I will say this: Skype is great. Sometimes I’m amazed at the things we can do because of advances in technology, and Skype is no exception. I had the opportunity to video chat with my roommate Shawn Dildine. We talked for a little over an hour, so it was pretty cool to catch up. I will admit, though I’ve only been gone a couple of days, I really miss my bro! He was in the Glee Club the past two years, so not having him with my for this Spring Break tour is a little different. I know he’s missing it big time. I’m glad this blog is at least serving him well!

Well, 1084 words isn’t necessarily what I’d call brief. Shocker, right?

It’s bed though. That 7:00 AM wake up call is right around the corner! Have a good night folks!

