Oh, Valentine’s Day

by Jeremy Chance

Here we are. February 14th. Valentine’s Day…again.

The other day on our lunch break while delivering Singing Valentine’s for Purdue Musical Organizations, we started discussing Valentine’s Day and my friend Jessica made the comment that she doesn’t understand how anyone can have a legit reason to not like Valentine’s Day, or something to that effect.

Unfortunately, I do.

I’m not really going to talk about it. Blogging about it here isn’t really the appropriate forum. I will say that for the past six to eight years, Valentine’s Day hasn’t been in my top 20 favorite holidays. (And it has nothing to do with the fact that I’ve been single for most of the Valentine’s Days in that span)

That’s alright though. Valentine’s Day for me has become just another day. Just the midpoint of the shortest month of the year.

Valentine’s Day is a day for me to appreciate other people’s happiness. My roommate and best friend Shawn and his fiancee Darcy finally get to spend more than just a few hours together on Valentine’s Day. My brother Jon and his girlfriend Kate get to spend their first Valentine’s Day together. I’m happy that people get to spend this day with their significant other.

Even if you don’t have a significant other to spend Valentine’s Day with, look around you. There’s no doubt that you have friends and family in your life who care about you and love you. Valentine’s Day, I’m realizing, is a day to be thankful for the people you have in your life. After the recent death of one friend’s mother and the news (that I was just informed of right now) that another friend’s mother isn’t doing very well with lung cancer, I couldn’t be more thankful for the friends and family I have in my life.

As I sit in the living room at my apartment, both of my roommates are here. Granted they are both going to be leaving at some point for their Valentine’s Day plans, but it’s still nice to have them here for a little bit. We really aren’t able to spend too much time together with all of our busy schedules. It’s nice when we have the opportunity to relax a bit together.

As I kind of talked about in my previous post, we need to be thankful for who we have in our lives, and I really am greatly for the people I have in my lives, even if I don’t show it as well as I should.

I couldn’t ask for a better family than the one I have. Yes, our situation isn’t what I would call ideal, but we’re stronger for it and are closer because of it. My mother has been and always be the “queen of my heart,” to quote a song from one of my favorite groups of all time. My father has always been supportive and has been there for me any time he can.

I would be absolutely lost without my brothers and sister. My two brothers, Jon and Joe, are two of the coolest guys I know and I’m glad they’re my brothers. Kels is growing up to be a pretty cool chick herself and I’m glad she’s here at Purdue so I can be there for her as she grows up even more. I don’t know what I would do without them, and I really wish Jon could be down here with the three of us all the time!

Plus my extended family rocks! As much as I really don’t enjoy going home, anytime I get to go home for a holiday, it’s nice to see my extended family because they’re so much fun! My cousins are awesome. Their kids are fun to be around. My aunts and uncles are great. I have a great family.

I also have a great groups of friends! From the people I’ve grown up with and still have in my life to the people I’ve met since I’ve been at Purdue, I have the most entertaining and diverse of groups of friends. I know that I’m maybe not as good of friends with the people from high school as I was back then, but I’m glad for the relationships I’ve had and I’m very thankful for the impact those people have had on my life.

As for the people I’ve met since I’ve been at college, every single one of them have enhanced my college experience more than I could have asked for. From all of the experiences we’ve had to all of the experiences we will have, I’m more than thankful. I know I’ve met people, especially from the Glee Club and the Purduettes, that I will be friends with forever and will truly shape the way I live the rest of my life.

Sorry for two “life lesson” blogs in a row. Sometimes when I start writing I just kind of go.

So for those of you upset that maybe you don’t have a significant other to spend this day, it’s really okay. Take a moment to be be thankful for the friends and family you have in your life.

