More blog posts coming soon…I hope

by Jeremy Chance

After I created my blog for my COM 497 class, I wandered over to this blog and realized I haven’t blogged in almost three months. Granted, in my defense, the months of November and December get pretty busy for a Glee Clubber. But it’s pretty unacceptable for me to not have maintained this blog.

So, my goal is to post on this blog on a relatively regular basis.

This is one of three blogs I will be keeping. I guess you could call this my “personal blog.” It’s primarily been about the goings on in Glee Club and classes and other happenings of my relatively eventful life.

Blog #2 is my blog for my class. I think we’ll just be posting assignments and stuff like that on that blog. I don’t believe we’re required to post any more than just class assignments on there, but I’d like to post on there on a regular basis as well. I like writing, so what would it hurt.

The third of my three blogs will probably be my favorite. For the same class, we’re working with the Journal & Courier on their new site targeting Purdue students, Boilercamp.us (we’re beta testing it, I guess you could say). We were asked to choose a beat from a list of topics to cover all semester. One of the topics (true story) was “bar scene.” I crossed my fingers pretty hard to cover this beat.

As our professor was talking about the requirements of this semester-long assignment, she mentioned that while having to post three times a week, one of the posts needed to be covering an actual event on our topic. She said something to the effect of, “You need to pick a topic that you wouldn’t mind attending an event for once a week.” I thought to myself: yeah, I don’t think I’d mind going out to the bars once a week “for academic purposes.”

I found out last Wednesday I got my first choice and will be covering for Boiler Campus. Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m going to take this assignment very seriously and make it a tasteful and enjoyable blog. I’m just going to have a whole hell of a lot of fun doing it. If you’d like to assist me in research for these blog assignments, please let me know. 🙂 It should be great.

That’s all for today. I need to grab some dinner before heading out to my wine appreciation class. Yeah, this semester is pretty great so far (my schedule consists of a new media class, a social networking class, wine appreciation and music theory). Hopefully I’ll keep to my word and blog again soon.

By the way, this Wednesday the Glee  Club will be singing the National Anthem at the Pacers/Lakers game. AND we get to stay for the game this time, unlike when we sang the Anthem at the Colts/Patriots game two years back. Pics to follow!

Take care!

