Oh, Glee Club

by Jeremy Chance

Good morning all, even though I think “all” refers to nobody because I don’t think anyone actually follows this. However, if you happened to stumble upon my blog, welcome and good morning to you!

It is currently almost 5:15 in the morning, and I have already been awake for 2 hours. Why, you may ask? As a member of the Purdue Varsity Glee Club, we are often requested to perform at different events and such, at various times in various locations. Well, this morning our presence has been requested to perform at this event down in Indianapolis. I forget what the name is (I know it’s “International something something.”) From what I understand, a bunch of corporations get together and have a brainstorming session to bounce ideas off of each other I suppose. Someone referred to it as a “think tank,” if that does anything for you. Anyways, I’ve been informed that the Disney Corporation will be there, as well as representatives with the Super Bowl, the Indianapolis 500, and some other big-name events and companies. We have been recommended to come perform, so we’re on our way to Indy to put on a 30 minute showcase.

The bad news is pretty obvious. Our “call time” was 4:15 this morning and soundcheck is at 6 am. We don’t perform until about 8 am (fortunately with breakfast, and hopefully coffee, in between).

The good news, however, is that this single event could create a number of leads that allow us to perform for a large number of prestigious and high-class events. It’s that whole investment idea; the time and effort you put in beforehand will benefit you down the road.

That’s what I’m telling myself right now as I sit on this bus driving to Indy at 5:20 in the morning. The two hours of sleep, the walking through campus at 4 am and the hour or so drive into Indy will ALL be worth it…if we can land a few performances with some of these high-end corporations and people that will be in attendance this morning. Should be a great show.

So as I mentioned, this morning is a half hour show. No big thing, totally going to be worth it. However, the fun doesn’t end there. After this morning we’ll drive back to Purdue, have classes and whatnot and carry on with our Wednesday schedules. Except for the fact that we have ANOTHER performance this evening at 6 pm. I have to be back in Glee Club mode at 5:30 this afternoon. It’s kind of odd having two call times, not quite 13 hours apart, in one day. That’s why many guys have deemed today “hell day” for Glee Club.

Two half hour shows, roughly 10 hours apart, one day. And THAT’S why we love Glee Club!

