It’s over, baby!

by Jeremy Chance

So, with it being July and all, I knew that the summer was coming to a close and that meant it would be time to move out of my place at Willowbrook West in West Lafayette. There have been some interesting times here, and it’s been a pretty up and down year at this place. But that’s neither here nor there. I knew our lease was ending at some point at the end of the month, but I just wasn’t sure when exactly, so on Tuesday I sent my friend Schalen who works in the office a text to ask what day the lease ended. She texted back saying it ends the 25th…aka, this Saturday.

Now, this wouldn’t be so much of a problem our new lease started right away. If I could move into my new place sometime next week I’d really have no problem. However, I just got caught in an unfortunate situation. My lease here at Willowbrook ends relatively early, and my lease at my new place for the upcoming school  year doesn’t begin til, get this, the weekend before school starts…that’s four weeks from now! That put me in a slight pickle. If I didn’t have to stay down here to work the rest of the summer it would probably wouldn’t be as bad. I could just go home for a few weeks. Unfortunately that’s not quite an option for me. Being a poor white kid makes it rather pertinent that I keep working. So, luckily there’s an open room at my old place and the place my little brother and boys still live, the 1608.

Needless to say the past few days I’ve been kind of scrambling to get my stuff together. Yesterday at work I gathered up a few empty ground chuck boxes to bring home to throw my stuff in. I spent pretty much my entire day off today getting my stuff packed up. I guess it wasn’t too much of a day since I had to do so much, but I’m definitely glad I had the day off to get it all done. My good ole buddy Bryce came by with his brand new truck (Shout out to BOS II) and trailer and loaded it up and dropped that stuff off at the 1608. Basically all I have here at Willowbrook is my tv, my clothes that are on hangers…and my laptop. That’s pretty much it. It’s kind of weird really. I’ll be here tonight and tomorrow night and that’s it. I’ll be at the 1608 from Saturday night probably til about August 18. It’s not necessarily what I’d call an ideal situation, but, I’m going to make the best of it anyways!

So it’s off to bed…maybe. I’m sure I’ll stay up and watch the Food Network til 3 in the morning. I don’t work til 3, so I’m sure I’ll sleep in til 1 or so. That’s one of the reasons I will admit I’m glad summer’s almost over. I’ve gotten myself in this crappy routine. I work 3-10, I’ll come home and stay up real late, sleep in til 1 or so, then do it all over again. It’ll be nice to switch it up a little bit during the year. I’m excited about this year. This school year is definitely looking like a good one!

